Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Prospecting

Prospecting

Hi guys!
    In the last week I've been watching a few you tube vids on prospecting for gold, mainly panning and have gotten quite keen on the idea.
    Since the Turon river is now on my door step I've decided I'm going to give it a go, I've still got to set myself up with gear and permits but that will happen very soon.
    So I was wondering if any of our beloved members are into prospecting and what gear do you use, also where do you go and if your in my area (I'm just out of Mudgee) would you be willing to join me and teach me the ropes?

Thunderbirds are go

check out Andrews channel Adventure Gold, Andrew is on the turon river all the time & his videos are always very educational, shows you where to look & what to look for
    https://www.youtube.com/user/19andrew72/videos

I am planning on getting out around hill end & the Turon a lot more this year, i'm just a beginner, new to panning & detecting,
    found this nugget in my first pan a couple of years ago, beginners luck, but haven't had a chance to get out for a while due to work commitments but this year i am going to make time
    got this 1.9 gram nugget on my first pan in between Hargreaves & Hill End
    Last edited by barnsey; 28-01-18 at 05:31 PM.

Very nice Brett nothing wrong with beginners luck. Maybe we could organise a trip sometime once I'm all set up!
    Yeah I've been watching his vids, very informative. In part he's the reason I've got the itch to give it ago. If nothing else it looks like a good way to spend a lazy day or overnighter by the river
    Last edited by king kahuna; 28-01-18 at 05:34 PM.

Thunderbirds are go

yeah it should be fun, still sorting the bugs on my truck but the best way to sort them is to use it