Thread: Backpack for a lifted Silverado truck?

Backpack for a lifted Silverado truck?

Hey all, I am new here. Actually I am new in camping as well. I have around 5 years of off-road experience, yet camping is something new for me, you know. Last summer I travelled with a truck bed camp that I installed in the bed of my Silverado, yet I believe I am ready for the next step. First I thought of a trailer, yet I believe that is not the right investment for a guy who 's in love with off-road. Next I thought of a cool camper, which is already better, and it will sit in the truck bed, I'll not have to tow it. My Silverado is lifted, and I was wondering, won't it be a problem? Or it's not safe to use it on a lifted truck?...

Hey Doc - great to have you on the forum.

It depends how serious you want to go I guess.

If you wanted to fit a roof-top-tent to a bed-rack, that would be pretty simple to do. Something like these guys run here:
    http://forum.expeditionportal.com/th...!!-Trip-Report

Here in Aus we tend to stick the RTT up high on top of a canopy or on the roof, but I'm not a huge fan of that. Holds the weight very high up, and if you've got a lifted truck to start with, you don't want to make your centre-of-gravity taller than you need to. I like the US-style of mounting the tents on a bed-rack to keep it below the roof line.

What I think you're asking about though is something more along the lines of this sort of thing?

For mine, they look too big and too heavy. Would make a nice beach cruiser, but if you want to stay on the trails, I'd be concerned about both the weight and the sheer dimensions of that thing. Plus, how comfortable do you really need to be?

I really like these units:
    http://www.trayon.com/